Uncategorized

Camp Nano Rundown {July 2017 Edition}

Hello darlings, and welcome to another Tuesday!

I don’t know about you, but I’m getting ready for another round of Camp NaNoWriMo, that wonderful summer activity that can drive a person to the brink of insanity, if not give them that glorious shove over the edge.

CampNaNoWriMoRundown{July 2017}

Nano doesn’t even seem to be a question for me anymore. Even if I’m destined to fail, I will still find a project and at least start the month out with some hard-core writing. It’s a way to keep myself motivated at the very minimum.

This time around, I felt like I had absolutely zero inspiration. No story ideas were jumping out to me from my everyday life, and I wasn’t daydreaming about some fantasy world in my spare time. In fact, I was starting to worry that maybe nothing would come to me before July 1st arrived.

Of course, that situation was completely unacceptable, so last night I decided to do the worst thing in the world – I went online and Googled “story idea generators.” Yeah, I did that. And I don’t feel guilty for using computer algorithms as a jumping-off point. Using those tools gave me some basic framework and variables and within ten minutes my mind was spinning with ideas and inspiration again.

As of right now, my story idea is a fantasy adventure (no surprise there!) with a strong female main character. I’m calling the storyΒ Her Mirrored Secret and I’m completely enamored with the cast of characters and the setting that have begun to evolve. The story begins with a prophecy that sends the main character on a journey to find an incredibly important piece of a magical puzzle. Along the way, the mysteries of her family, her own past, and her friendships create detours and build her character in ways she didn’t know were possible.

In essence, the entire idea is about as predictable of a fantasy plot as one can get, but there are just so many details that I can’t talk about yet because they’re too integral to the actual story. Somehow I managed to write a prophecy that sounds super awesome, but I haven’t even figured out what it exactly means yet, let alone how my characters are going to fulfill it. I know that there is going to be a magic system, but the details that are popping up already in my notes make me think that its going to be a very different and odd system. I’ve always been awful at creating rules for magic in my worlds, so we’ll see how that goes. With my main character’s family mystery, I’m adding a whole extra side plot that kind of makes me nervous.

Overall, however, I’m feeling excited about this round of Camp Nano!

If you’re participating this time, what is your project? The more, the merrier!

Till Friday! Β -K

Leave a Reply

