Uncategorized

A 5 Year Writing Plan

Hello, my beautiful people, and happy Tuesday! By the time this goes live, I will have finished finals and be enjoying a week away with several of my dearest friends. This is something that I have been looking forward to for over a month now, so I’m very happy to be finally done with this semester.

Two weeks ago, I wrote about dreaming as big as you possibly can and I talked about how five and ten year plans are often a way of putting your dreams in order so that you can make them happen. I also talked about how these plans can also be limiting in their own way. With all that in mind, I have created a five-year plan for my fictional writing dreams and today I want to share that with you all.

When creating this entire thing, I had to choose whether to start planning from now forwards or to create a full 5-year goal first. I chose to start with the now because that can be built on quite a bit better. By starting at the 5-year mark, it’s easier to sell my abilities short. And for the first year, I’ve already split things up into month-by-month goals so that I can move forward easier. So, with all that in mind, here you go.

Year One. Twelve months from now, I want to be preparing a new fiction project for publication and it would ideally be in the beta-testing/final editing stages. Apart from that, I want to spend the time from now until then becoming more proficient in my poetry writing skills, as well as have two more completed rough drafts waiting for editing.

Infographic


 

Year Two. In the second year of this plan, I want to publish two things: a fiction project and a collection of short stories and poems. In addition, I am planning to add another completed rough draft to my collection and bring two other projects through the first round of editing.

Year Three. During this year, I want to focus on my promotion skills in order to better skilled to sell my work. I want to start some freelancing work and pitch some of my other ideas to various places, bring another project to the final editing/beta-testing stage, and add three more completed rough drafts to my collection.

Year Four. Sometime during the fourth year of this plan, I intend to publish another of my fiction projects. I also want to continue freelancing and start to make a reasonable amount of money from my work. During this year I also would like to add two more completed rough drafts to my collection (many, many drafts. Mwahahah)

Year Five. The final year of this plan is the one where I want to really focus on building the business side of my writing, enough that I can be making a very nice side income. I plan to be able to publish another fiction project, and would love to be able to take some sort of trip or vacation that would be focused on my writing.


As it adds up, if I can complete these goals, then by the end of 5 years, I will have three more novels as well as a collection of short stories published, multiple rough drafts waiting for their turn, and I will be making some rather decent money from my writing ability.

If someone were to ask me why I would want to be at that point in five years, I would say that it is because writing is such a big part of who I am – such an enormous part of how I express myself, that I can’t imagine not doing it, and nothing about it makes me annoyed or bored.

As I said in the post I wrote two weeks ago… “When I am out of college and completely supporting myself, I want to be making my living solely from my musicianship and writing ability.” Because those are the things that will always be a part of my life, and I would not have it any other way.

This post is a little bit of a selfish one, since I’m solely talking about my own goals and dreams here, but this will hopefully be something that I can look back on in the next six months, two years, etc. and be happy about.

What would your plan look like, particularly if you write?! Let me know!

Love, -K

1 thought on “A 5 Year Writing Plan”

Leave a Reply

