Uncategorized

Books, Vacation, and a Chat

Hello darlings!

Tuesday is finally here again! (Finally is debatable but whatever.)

taking a walk

I pulled into my driveway at 1am this morning after driving most of the way across Texas. Monday was a day off from school, so I spent Easter weekend at my parents’ home. It was great to get away from homework and stress and the craziness of schedules for a few days. I flew kites with my family, was able to chat with one of my brothers about college struggles, and possibly ate too much sugar.

Originally I had planned to film a video for Sunday, but I wasn’t checking my planner and therefore completely forgot to get the actual filming done, which meant that nothing happened. Oh well. I’ll get one up for the next Sunday!

Spending time at my parents’ home, which is a 20 minutes drive from the nearest grocery store, made me remember what its like not to have to stress about traffic or juggle appointments, or be so intensely busy that you forget how to relax. It was a fantastic reminder, and it also made me remember how much I still prefer living in the country. If you were watching my Instagram or Facebook over the weekend, I posted several times about the joys of small town living and the relaxation of it in particular. I do like living in the city, I love the convenience of it, how accessible everything is. Here my friends are 5 minutes away if I need them. Back home, my best friend lives nearly 40 minutes away. Differences like that are nice, but in all honestly, the mental state that country living offers wins out every time. My anxiety and depression tend to be much more manageable when I go home because I can run outside and hug my horse, or play fetch with my dog, or just hug a tree and remember how amazing the natural world is.

Okay, enough about that. The one thing that I did not get done over my vacation weekend was working on my Nanowrimo project. Whoops. I didn’t write a single world for four full days… Which means that now I am almost 5000 words behind, which could be stressful, but I’m telling myself that its fine. This project is for me and me alone, so it doesn’t really matter. (Except that it does.) I churned out almost 500 words already this morning before writing this blog post, and I plan to have almost an hour of time this evening to work on it again. Catching up will happen sooner than we all think it will!


The last thing I want to chat about this week is my reading list for this month. Yes, April is over halfway gone, but it doesn’t matter. These five-ish books are a mix of books that I’ve picked up recently, books that have been sitting on my to-read shelf for a while now, and even a bit of re-reading.

Up first is Looking for Alaska, by John Green. I’ve actually already finished this one before writing this post. I love John Green as a person and follow him religiously on all social medias (including watching every single youtube video he has ever produced), so of course I had to read his books. I’m probably going to share my thoughts on all these books at the end of the month sometime so I won’t wax poetic here, but suffice it to say that I had very mixed feelings at the end of this book. About a lot of things.

This sort of counts as a book, but I’m re-reading parts of C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia as well this month. It’s partially for a project that I’m working on (in secret, so don’t get your hopes up) and partially just because I absolutely love all of Lewis’ work and feel the need to reread it every so often. So there!

I’ve had this collection of Arabian Nights for several years and I’m finally getting around to cracking it open. It’s been a lot of fun so far and the stories are quite interesting. We’ll see what it comes out to.

I picked up a book the other day at the library called Pegasus and even though I don’t know very much about it at all, it seems like a fascinating fantasy story. Hopefully it is – I’ve had a hard time finding fantasy novels lately that I enjoy. So – I suppose we shall see.

And lastly – another book that I’ve had on my shelf for quite some time is The Perfect Wrong Note. It’s a nonfiction book about different strategies for practicing piano and its written by one of my professors here at university. I want to read it now and hopefully put some of the strategies into practice before the end of the semester. Ideally anyways.

So that’s where I am at right now. My computer hates me, I’m going to get back to my reading, and possibly die with the insane amount of projects that have to be finished by Friday morning.

So create some magic in your life and I’m gonna try to do the same for mine!

~K out

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

