Life's Purpose

Why am I in college?

Hello internet! It feels like I’ve talked about a lot of different things lately, like the reasons behind why I quit my job, and all sorts of things about NaNoWriMo, since that is kind of a big part of my life this month. But today, I’m going to get down into the interesting details of my music college experience.

why-am-i-in-college

Music majors have a hard life in a lot of ways. The expectations that our professors lay out for us are very high. Obviously, I cannot speak for other majors and colleges, but it feels like a lot of my friends who are not music majors find my workload to be fairly high, so I don’t know exactly what the differences are. Anywho! To illustrate, my theory class has an assignment due every single class period (3x a week). These assignments can take me up to two hours to finish, which could add up to six hours of homework every week. For one class. And I have eight different classes. Yay.

It’s kind of interesting how I ended up coming to this degree plan. I grew up playing the piano and being able to sing decently well, so it was expected of me when I started going to college. And I love doing it, but there are also so many other things that I love, and even though I’m in a music education focus, I’ve never desired to teach anyone how to play. It is a fascinating field of study, to be sure, but not what I want to do with the rest of my life. From talking to many of my peers, I’ve noticed that there seems to be a mix of those students who know exactly what they want to do with their lives, and those who really don’t know at all what they want. A lot of the time, I fall into the latter category.

“No matter what I do, it will be something that means absolutely everything to me.”

Okay, so that last paragraph may have confused you. Why am I doing this if it isn’t what I want out of life? Because music is my heart and soul. It speaks to me in so many different ways and expresses every possible emotion and feeling that I otherwise might not be able to express. And being in a great music college like where I’m at means that I’m having an immersion experience. Everything that I do right now for school is related to music in some way or another and that is what I need.  Whether or not I continue with this degree, or whether I decide to drop everything and travel for the next six months, no matter what I do, it will be something that means absolutely everything to me. And even if I finish this degree and then decide not to have a music career, that’s totally okay. What you do in college does not need to, nor should it dictate the rest of your life.

There are many reasons that people go to college. Why or why not have you attended college? I am so curious right now!

So anyways, that’s everything for today! I’m going to go start packing to go home tomorrow – so have a fantastic, magical Thanksgiving!  Love YOU.

Leave a Reply

