Uncategorized

Why I Blog (Life’s Purpose)

Hello internet! This post is actually on time, which is actually quite surprising. Hopefully you read last week’s blog post because it was amazing and very close to my heart. In fact, I put so much love and emotion into that post that I had trouble writing anything else after that. For those of you who shared your thoughts on what I wrote, thank you so much. It means more than you know. Sending lots of love your way.

9730067911_5dadf3daef_k

In early July, I wrote a post entitled A Fulfilling Life. In it, I discussed a lot of my feelings about finding a purpose in life, about how I wasn’t feeling a lot of satisfaction in my day to day routine. I wrote two follow up posts about what I have been doing to discover my purpose. There were many things I didn’t even touch on in those posts as well as many things that I’ve done and/or not done since then.  And by no means have I discovered my purpose in life because that is a quest that is never quite over, as far as I’m concerned. But lately, I’ve felt more and more content with what I do. I mean, sure, last week I sat on the steps outside the music building and wondered why I continue attending class day in and day out. I asked myself what I wanted to do with my degree and whether it actually meant that much to me. But right now, as I sit here, in my own home, with the rain pounding on the roof, a black kitten sleeping in my lap, and a list of incredibly impossible-yet-reachable goals on the desk beside my laptop, I realize that I do love what I’m doing. Why I’m in college is a subject for another post – hang on, let me add that to my editorial calendar – but suffice it to say that it is totally worth it.

This doesn’t actually happen as often I would expect, but sometimes when people I know find out that I write a blog, they ask me why. They don’t understand why I share my life, my emotions and my struggles on the internet. Why I make things public that might otherwise be private. And truth is, I do put things on this blog that sometimes I won’t say out loud to someone. I tend to be a very quiet, reserved human being when you meet me in person; so very often I have an internal battle with myself about whether or not I should put that post up. Sometimes people worry about me when I talk in depth about mental health struggles, but my hope is that one day someone might run across my words and benefit from what I’ve been through. The same goes for this journey of finding a fulfilling purpose in life – I’ve talked to friends and I know absolutely for certain that I’m not the only one who has struggles finding fulfillment. It’s not uncommon for people to be unsure about what they should be doing with their time and their life, but sometimes the mere knowledge that ‘oh! I’m not the only one who is this way’ is incredibly helpful. Blogging is simply one outlet that I’ve found to express myself. Right now, I’m in the slow stages of trying to make the internet profitable for me, but that doesn’t change the fact that I love to write and share with other people.

I figured that I would share a few of the other reasons that I blog. Maybe it will help you see why I continue to do this, maybe it will inspire you to do something similar. Who knows.

  1. Firstly, this blog is my safe place. I have control here. Safe places and comfort zones are important, at least to me. Yes, this is still the internet, but I have a lovely little spot of my own.
  2. I simply love to write. Sometimes I can and do go for weeks on end without writing, but because of this blog, I feel compelled to create content. And since I’m particular about WHAT KIND of content I share, that inspires me to be creative and actually try. It’s a helpful tool in keeping me going as a creative person.
  3. It’s relaxing. Almost cathartic in a way. Especially when I write these types of posts – just sitting down and spouting out what’s in my brain. Even though I could just go rant to a friend or write in a private journal, there is a special feeling of freedom when I hit publish on something like this.

Now, I wouldn’t say that I recommend everyone should blog. I won’t even say that everyone is GOOD at blogging! But it really depends on what your own personal reasons are for it. At one point, I didn’t care much about whether people read my posts. Now, my reasons for blogging haven’t changed much, but the purpose behind my actual blog has, so I edit in a different way. I have different standards in mind when I attach pictures to my posts or when I add a new video to social media. My blog reader is full of various types of writers and subject matter because everyone writes for different reasons. Everyone is special in their own way and they deserve to share it with the world if and how they so choose!

If you already blog, share a link so that I can check it out! 

If not, would you consider it? Why or why not?

Okay, I’m off to catch up on sleep before choir rehearsal, so keep being magical and wonderful and unique!

~K out~

Leave a Reply

