Uncategorized

Introvert: Blogging

Introverts are strange and often misunderstood people. In fact, when I looked up the “definition of introvert”, Google gave me the following:

noun: a shy, reticent person. A person predominantly concerned with their own thoughts and feelings rather than with external things.

I suppose that from the outside, that does describe introverted people. But honestly, when I look at that definition, it makes me feel a little bit irritated. I am most definitely an introvert. Nobody would ever argue with that statement. But I’m only a bit shy. Maybe slightly reticent, but only sometimes. And I most certainly am NOT predominantly concerned with my own thoughts and feelings. I concern myself constantly with other people’s dilemmas and feelings.

introvert-problem

This idea has been sitting on my dashboard for a while now and since the last few days I haven’t been very drawn to journaling or blogging or expression in general, what better day than today to write about it. Because, if you read a lot of articles on the internet, you might have already noticed that a large portion, if not the majority, of regular, full-time bloggers identify as introverts. (Not to say that extroverts don’t or can’t blog. I read several extroverts’ blogs and love them dearly!) And why is that?

I can only give my personal thoughts and experiences, but maybe they explain it a little bit.

I spend a lot of time at home, choosing very rarely to go out and see people. The idea of a romantic relationship is sweet and nice, but I prefer to live that out through the books I read and the movies I watch. Actually being tied to someone, anyone, is not something I want. I am quite happy at home with my cats. I share my feelings and opinions only on occasion. In fact, I’m quite sure my mom wonders (hi Mom, I know you’re reading this!) why I don’t talk about certain things in person, but post them on my blog for the entire world to read if they so like. It is a bit of  a strange paradox, but I am quite comfortable with it.

7h66idu

Introverts have a lot to say, more than people give them credit for. And, at least for me personally, its not that we’re just shy or don’t wish to say what we think or feel. It’s bigger than that. The world we all live in moves so very quickly that people just don’t take the time to form their thoughts and ideas rationally. This is a major reason that I don’t partake of normal conversations very easily, because I am not at all skilled at putting my thoughts into words on the spur of the moment. But I do feel a pressing need to express myself, which is where blogging comes in. I can form my thoughts coherently, taking the time that I need to have the words make sense.

Obviously, being a bit “shy and reticent” means that I can be nervous when talking about personal details of my life on a public blog, but honestly, it doesn’t bother me too much anymore. I was carefully vague about certain things when I first started blogging, but at some point, I stopped caring what other people thought and now, other than being careful to protect my location and full identity, I allow myself to talk about whatever I wish to talk about.

So, in summary, why, as an extreme introvert, do I blog about my personal life for the entire world to see?  In short, because its a form of self-expression that I’ve come to love, and even more simply, because I want to and I can.

I should note that I love extroverts just as much as introverts (I have had friends take offense with how strongly I love my own lifestyle). Nobody’s personality or style of living is any better than someone else’s. I am simply sharing my own experiences.

Leave a Reply

