Uncategorized

500 Words

I haven’t shared my goals for March on this blog (you can read about them here) but one of them is the goal to write 500 words every day.

I get email updates from Jeff Goins, a pretty good author/blogger and he always has good challenges and tips. One of his big challenges was the idea of making a writing habit. His way of doing this was to sit down and write 500 words, every single day. 500 words isn’t that much, right? To some people it is, and to some people it isn’t. Personally, I usually find it easy to hit 500 words, but there are those days where I just can’t seem to get going and then it takes forever.

I’ve done this challenge in the past and enjoyed it, but fell out of the habit for various reasons. In April, Camp NanoWrimo kicks off, and I would really love to participate in it, but because of my school and work schedule, I know it wouldn’t be easy. That makes the reason for doing this 500 words challenge two fold: I want to be prepped and ready for April’s Camp, and I just want to reinstate my writing habit in general.

So, it sounds simple enough, right? Just write 500 words and your job is done for the day! But its harder than that. It works the first day or two or three, and then suddenly you’re getting ready for bed and it dawns on you that you never wrote a word. You forgot, or kept putting it off to do something more important and then it never happened. So in order to succeed, you have to really do a bit of planning and stick to it.

Another one of my goals for March is to get back to waking up at 6:30 every morning. Lately I’ve been waking up at that time, but not getting out of bed, or sometimes just falling back asleep. I don’t really have a good enough reason to be up at that hour. So for the month of March, I’m going to leave my computer fairly close to my bed, set an alarm for 6:30, and then first thing in the morning, I’m going to knock out my 500 words for the day. This is something that I have done before and know that it works for me (strangely enough since I’m a night owl writer).

Have you participated in the 500 Words Challenge? If not, its a great way to kickstart a writing habit and feel accomplished about yourself!

Leave a Reply

