Uncategorized

Horses & Life

There has been mention on this blog before about the side of my life that I dedicate to horses and riding. So today, I thought I would write a little bit about how that affects the rest of my life.

I’ve owned horses since I was 11 years old, with the longest stint of being horse-less around three months. Even while I was growing up, my parents helped me out a great deal to keep these big animals that eat your money, but I was always completely responsible for their care and well being, as well as the finances a lot of the time. I wholeheartedly believe that this helped shape me into who I am now. As a teenager, having multiple large creatures relying on you was a big responsibility, and one that I am very glad that I had.

Of course, it is quite difficult to ride correctly (if this is news to you, I’m very sorry to disappoint you) so I had to work quite hard to get results that I wanted. Taking one of my horses to Dallas to perform for a trainer was one of my greatest accomplishments. Moving out of my comfort zone and becoming an English rider in a Western world was another accomplishment. That one is quite an interesting scenario because I had always dreamed of riding English since I was a little girl, but everyone around me rode Western and when I got my first horse, that is simply what I ended up doing. I did that for nine years before pursuing my real dream.

Riding and training horses requires a lot of patience and hard work and it took me many years to truly realize that. But when I did, it became a big part of how I lived my life and treated those around me. Horses taught me to see others in a completely different light.

All that I am really trying to say here is that the entire world of horses is something that has shaped who I am as a person. It’s not for everyone, but it has been for me, and will continue to be a part of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

