Uncategorized

Personal ‘TBR’ List

My list of books to be read is way too long, which is why it takes an entire post to write about them. I have not done very well about reading regularly in the last while, so some of these books have been in my possession for over a year.
When I made my 2016 goals, one of them was to finish one fiction book per month. If I only did that, I still would not have finished this list by the end of the year, so perhaps we could say that my secret goal is to actually finish my To-Be-Read pile in 2016. Highly unlikely, since I will probably be adding to it – who could resist buying books for a whole year? Not me.
20160119_191309

  • The Knight of Maison Rouge, by Alexandre Dumas
    • Halfway through this one already. It’s fantastic.
  • The Unfinished Tales, by J.R.R. Tolkien
    • Tolkien is one of my favorite authors. I devoured his works when I was 15, but somehow this escaped my reach until a while back.
  • The Basket of Flowers, a French children’s tale
    • Just to be clear, this is not in French. I don’t even know what it is exactly. I only bought it because of the pretty hardcover binding.
  • 77 Shadow Street, by Dean Koontz
    • I’ve started this in the past, then got distracted. Really good though.
  • Hard Times, by Charles Dickens
    • Every time that this has come to the top of my list, somebody has wanted to borrow it. Now it is my turn!
  • The Portrait of a Lady, by Henry James
    • Has anyone read this book? All I know is that it is a classic of some sort.
  • Othello, by William Shakespeare
    • One day I will have read all of Shakespeare.
  • The Man In The Iron Mask, by Alexandre Dumas
    • This one might be waiting until I find the book that is supposed to come before it.
  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame, by Victor Hugo
    • I’m a bit wary of reading this one. There are various opinions on it.

20160119_190826

  • The Marble Faun, by Nathaniel Hawthorn
    • Has anyone even heard of this book? I never had until I bought it.
  • Sketches of Young Gentlemen and Young Couples, by Charles Dickens
    • Because Dickens is awesome. Shut up.
  • National Velvet, by Enid Bagnold
    • I like children’s books and cannot understand how this one escaped me.
  • The Last Days of Socrates, by Plato
    • No reason.
  • Poems, by Bryant
    • I love reading poetry, especially since I’m rubbish at writing it.
  • Little Men, by Louisa May Alcott
    • Required reading, according to my mother.
  • Jo’s Boys, by Louisa May Alcott
    • See above. I agree with my mother.
  • So Merciful a Queen, So cruel a Woman, by Alice Harwood
    • I love the pre-Elizabethan era and that there are so many books that came out of it. Always fantastic reads.
  • Dracula, by Bram Stoker
    • A bit unusual for me, but I want to read it anyways.

20160119_192052
How long is your list of books to be read? Hopefully not quite as long as mine! Or perhaps it is longer and you just read a lot faster than I do. Either way, what sort of books do you have on your list and why did you put them there?

 

Note that all photo credit in this post goes to me, Katharine Marie Wiebe

1 thought on “Personal ‘TBR’ List”

  1. I haven’t read many of the books on your list, I’ve read The Unfinished Tales of course and Dracula is surprisingly good! But my list now includes The Legend of Drizzt series and I’m still working on finishing all of Ted Dekkers books and a children’s series called The Dream House Kings by Robert Liparulo, and it seems like every time I go to the library I find something new to distract me from my list…

    Like

Leave a Reply

