Uncategorized

A Secret Fangirl

Okay, so this isn’t exactly what I had in mind when I was thinking about my second post for this place, but I couldn’t keep my fingers still.

You see, I am, through and through, a hardcore fan of Sherlock Holmes. Every version, interpretation, and possibility out there. But one of my very favorites is the BBC tv series entitled, quite simply, Sherlock.

Now, if you’re not a member of this fan-base, then you might not know that BBC released over the past weekend, a Christmas special entitled The Abominable Bride. And last night, I trekked the entire three miles down to the cinema and had the night of my life.

I managed to get all the trivia questions right that were presented before the actual feature, I caught all of the references that were made, both to some crazy fan theories, and to the original Arthur Conan Doyle stories. I also may or may not have squealed at finally, at last, having a new episode to enjoy.

Let’s just say I was definitely a fangirl last night. And I enjoyed every minute of it.

Favorite moment: Before the show actually began, I was eavesdropping on a group of people that were sitting in the row behind me at the cinema. Apparently, two girls had convinced their boyfriends to come watch this special with them and the poor guys did not realize ahead of time that this was the BBC version. When they found out that Robert Downey Junior would not be Sherlock Holmes, they nearly freaked out. They wanted to leave, afraid that it would be a silly show, or some such nonsense. They wanted the girls to tell them everything that had happened in the episodes prior so that they would be up to speed.  After the show was over, they were some of the most excited fans I saw throughout the entire night. Because Sherlock is just amazing, plain and simple.

19599312282_b16eebdb44_b
photo credit goes to Bago Games on Flickr

And now you know something new about me!  Maybe sometime I’ll talk about my recently discovered love for Doctor Who. But mostly, I intend to go back to my originally planned posts for this blog!

If you’re a fan of Sherlock Holmes as well, in any of the many versions, then let me know!  I want to be your friend.

Leave a Reply

